chapter  4
24 Pages

Central America

The area known as Central America geographically comprises seven nations: Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, and Belize. Belize is seldom mentioned in a discussion of "Central America" and some Panamanians also deny being a member. In both cases, denial of inclusion is the result of historical and cultural rather than geographic considerations.