chapter  50
1 Pages

mjor political thinkers

From ancient Greece through to the present day, Fifty Major Political Thinkers introduces the lives and ideas of some of the most influential figures in Western political thought. The entries provide a fascinating and readable introduction to the major figures and schools of thought that have shaped contemporary politics. They include:

• Aristotle • Machiavelli • Simone de Beauvoir • Karl Marx • Jean-Francois Lyotard • Tom Paine • Mohandas Gandhi • Jean-Jacques Rousseau • Jiirgen Habermas • Alexis de Tocqueville

Fully cross-referenced and including a glossary of theoretical terms, this wide-ranging and accessible book is essential reading for anyone with an interest in the evolution and history of contemporary political thought.