chapter  6
34 Pages

The Role of the Arab Group in the Organisation of African Unity: Mohamed Orner Beshir

This paper is a study of the role of the Arab group, that is, the five North African countries (Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Algeria and Morocco) in addition to Sudan, Somalia, Djibouti and Mauritania which are members of the OAU, and their involvement, either through the Arab League and the OAU, or on a bilateral basis, in the shared issues and problems concerning the African group in the OAU. Due to the diversity of the issues and the dimensions of relations between the institutions and member states of the two organisations, I will focus on the issues directly related to liberation and cooperation for economic progress.