chapter  8
31 Pages

Charity law and social inclusion in England and Wales

The United Kingdom comprises England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Within the UK, England and Wales form a single jurisdiction and the subject of this chapter. It is singled out because of the unique contribution made by its monarchy, legislature and courts to the development of the common law and because each of the much smaller jurisdictions has a distinct charity law framework and is engaged in a separate charity law reform process, making a composite UK study too complicated and unnecessary for present purposes.