chapter  12
32 Pages

Charity law and social inclusion in the United States

The United States, an independent Constitution-based federal republic since 4 July 1776, with a strong democratic tradition, has a federal system of government, where authority is divided between the national government and the 51 states (including the District of Columbia) that together form the country. Each of these jurisdictions has independent responsibility for enacting legislation, providing a judicial system and for managing programmes of service provision.