The Four Āgamas
Pages 1

Although our survey of the monastic rules disposes of the Vinaya Pitaka, we cannot pass on to the third stage in our scheme of Buddhist development without first referring to the Digha and Anguttara Nikayas of the Sutta Pitaka which, together with the Majjhima and Sa1!lyutta, constitute the four agamas (scriptures).