chapter  Chapter 2
31 Pages

Haryana before 10 May 1857

ByC.B. Singh Sheoran

The present Haryana derives its name in the modern history from the region located in the districts of Hisar, Fatehabad, Jind, Rohtak, Bhiwani, Sonepat and Jhajjar called Hurrianah or Hureeanah, an independent political and geographical entity with its capital at Hansi in the last decade of eighteenth century. It is, however, an ancient land.