4 Pages

A. Sudan: History, Ancient and Modern

The Republic of the Sudan, the largest country in Africa, is bordered by Egypt in the north; by the Red Sea, Ethiopia and Eritrea in the east; by Kenya, Uganda and Zaire in the south; by the Central African Republic and Chad in the west, and by Libya to the north-west.