chapter  7
14 Pages

Building Sustainable Community/University Partnerships in a Metropolitan Setting

The Pioneer Valley in Western Massachusetts is home to the Five College

consortium, which includes three small private liberal arts colleges, Amherst,

Mount Holyoke, and Smith Colleges; an innovative and experimental institution,

Hampshire College; and the state’s flagship campus, the University of

Massachusetts at Amherst. For nearly 40 years, the consortium has served as a

vehicle for collaboration and resource sharing among the five colleges, including

in the field of community-based learning (CBL).