chapter  6
3 Pages

Concurrent Validity Thurstone Test of Mental Alertness

See Exercise 5 to review concurrent validity. See Appendix A to review the mean, standard deviation, correlation coefficient, and

statistical significance before attempting this exercise.

Background Notes

The Thurstone Test of Mental Alertness (TMA) is designed to measure general mental ability. It consists of four types of multiple-choice items: (1) arithmetic reasoning (solving arithmetic word problems), (2) number series (determining which number comes next in a series such as 5, 10, 15, _1_), (3) same-opposite meaning (vocabulary items in which examinees identify a choice that has either the same or opposite meaning as a word), and (4) definitions (reading a definition and identifying the word being defined).