21 Pages


Gurage (also Gerawege, Geràgi, Geràge, Gueràgue) people designate themselves according to the names of the fourteen “ tribal” divisions in the Gurage cluster. The territorial divisions, each comprising a number of politically independent clan chiefdoms, are further distinguishable on the basis of the language or dialect spoken by each tribal unit, as described below (p. 99).