chapter  2
15 Pages

Sea in Australia

Australia has a federal system of government with nine separate jurisdictions,

comprising the Australian (federal or Commonwealth) government, six state

governments and two self-governing territories. Each has its own environmental

impact assessment (EIA) legislation and procedures. Formal provision for

strategic environmental assessment (SEA) varies between jurisdictions. There

are, however, many examples of environmental assessment of policies, plans

and programmes (PPP) not explicitly described as SEA that are part of the

broader SEA family. They include public inquiries, assessments conducted

under land-use planning and environmental protection legislation, and

assessments of natural resource use.