chapter  15
Olympic education for peace and international cultural understanding
ByHisashi Sanada
Pages 14

Japan is a stratovolcano archipelago of 6,852 islands. The four largest are Honshu, Hokkaido, Kyushu and Shikoku, which make up about 97 per cent of Japan’s land area. The country is divided into 47 prefectures in eight regions. The population of 126 million is the world’s tenth largest. Japanese people make up 98.5 per cent of Japan’s total population. Approximately 9.1 million people live in the city of Tokyo, the capital city of Japan. The Greater Tokyo Area, which includes Tokyo and several surrounding prefectures, is the world’s largest metropolitan area with over 35 million residents.