7 Pages

Australia and New Zealand

Australia and New Zealand are independent nations located in the Southern Hemisphere, southeast of Asia, the former between the Pacific and Indian Oceans, the latter in the South Pacific. Sparsely populated, with some 18 million people mostly in coastal regions, the country of Australia is coextensive with the continent plus the large island of Tasmania and several smaller islands. New Zealand, composed primarily of two islands off the southeastern coast of Australia, is a country of approximately 3 million. Both are former British colonies and are populated mainly by individuals of European descent, as well as Aboriginal peoples and immigrants from Asia and elsewhere.