chapter  4
12 Pages

The core

ByShalina Mitchell, Somayyeh Shahsavari

The vertebral column consists of 24 bones (excluding the sacrum and coccyx). This includes 7 cervical vertebrae (covered in the head and neck section), 12 thoracic vertebrae and 5 lumbar vertebrae. The structural characteristics of these bones differ with their position in the vertebral column.