chapter  1
14 Pages

The female reproductive system anatomy and physiology

INTRODUCTION The female reproductive system is composed of the internal and external genitalia. The internal genitalia comprise the ovaries, uterine (fallopian) tubes, uterus (including the cervix) and vagina. The external genitalia consist of the vulva, which comprises the labia majora, labia minora, clitoris, vestibular bulbs, mons veneris (pubis), urethral and peri-urethral gland ducts. The vulva serves as the entrance to the vagina and in the normal state covers and protects the urethral orifice.