chapter  1
11 Pages

Canada Soontae An

Canada is both a constitutional monarchy and a parliamentary democracy, with a federation of national, provincial, and territorial governments. Its administrative divisions consist of 10 provinces and three territories (CIA 2012). In most provinces, the legal system is based on English common law, while the French civil law system prevails in the eastern province of Quebec. The gross domestic product (GDP; purchasing power parity) is $1.279 trillion (2009 est.), the fifteenth in the world (CIA 2012). The population of Canada was estimated at 34,670,352 in 2012 (Statistics Canada 2012).