2 Pages


The Constitution of Papua New Guinea provides that the laws of the country consist of the Constitution, the organic laws, Acts of Parliament, emergency regulations and provincial laws as well as ‘laws made or adopted by or under the Constitution and the underlying laws’. Amongst the ‘underlying laws’ are the rules of common law and equity. The organic laws in general relate to the organisation of certain government institutions such as the Judicial and Legal Services Commission and the Ombudsman Commission. The Constitution of Papua New Guinea and the organic laws represent the ‘supreme’ law of the country and all Acts inconsistent with them are invalid and ineffective.