This anthology of over 40 scores and excerpts represents a wide range of music from across the twentieth century and into the twenty-first century, from pieces by Debussy, Stravinsky, and Bartok to works by Arvo Pärt, Thomas Adès, and Kaija Saariaho. Showcasing the vast range of compositional styles encompassed in the post-tonal era, this volume offers a convenient compendium including hard-to-find scores. Designed for use with Understanding Post-Tonal Music by Miguel A. Roig-Francolí, which includes extensive analyses of the scores provided here, this anthology can also stand alone for study and analysis in other courses on the history and analysis of post-tonal music.

chapter 13|4 pages

Agnus Dei, from Mass (1944–48)

chapter 21|5 pages

Klavierstück, op. 33a (1929)

chapter 23|6 pages

Structures Ia, Mm. 1–39 (1952)

chapter 30|9 pages

Riverrun, 0:00–8:48 (1986)

chapter 35|8 pages

Violin Phase (1967)

chapter 37|5 pages

Cantus (1977)

chapter 40|6 pages

Asyla, II, Mm. 1–43 (1997)

chapter 41|6 pages

Ariel’s Hail (2000)