First Published in 1999. The purpose of this series is to provide a contemporary assessment and history of the entire course of philosophical thought. Each book constitutes a detailed, critical introduction to the work of a philosopher of major influence and significance. Alfred Jules Ayer was born on 29 October 1910 and still flourishes. Ayer’s philosophical writings to date include fourteen books (not to mention those he has edited) and a host of essays, articles, and reviews.

chapter |66 pages

Part I Meaning and Verification

chapter |87 pages

Part II Knowledge and Scepticism

chapter |79 pages

Part III Man and Nature