Colin Wilson revitalised existentialism with a completely new approach to the philosophy. The six volumes of his ‘Outsider’ series created an existentialism that is not paralysed by its own nihilism. This book, first published in 1966, is a clear summary of the ideas of the ‘Outsider’ cycle, and also develops them to a new stage. Wilson’s ‘new existentialism’ sees philosophy as an intellectual adventure that aims at a real command and control of human existence, and this book is its clearest exponent.

part Part One|81 pages

The Crisis in Modern Thought

chapter |6 pages


My Own Approach to the Problem

chapter Chapter One|15 pages

The Old Existentialism

chapter Chapter Two|17 pages

What is Phenomenology?

chapter Chapter Three|24 pages

The Meaning of Husserl’s Revolution

chapter Chapter Four|18 pages

The New Picture of the Universe

part Part Two|89 pages

The New Existentialism

chapter Chapter One|8 pages

The Man in the Fog

chapter Chapter Two|12 pages

The Extension of Consciousness

chapter Chapter Three|19 pages

Inside The Dark Room

chapter Chapter Four|17 pages

Language and Values

chapter Chapter Five|9 pages

Everyday Consciousness is a Liar

chapter Chapter Six|22 pages

The Power of the Spectre