The Routledge Handbook to the Music of Alfred Schnittke is a comprehensive study of the work of one of the most important Russian composers of the late 20th century. Each piece is discussed in detail, with particular attention to the composer’s groundbreaking polystylism, as well as his unique approach to musical symbolism and his deep engagement with Christian themes.

This is the first publication to look at Schnittke’s output in its entirety, and for most works it represents either the first ever published analysis or the first in a language other than Russian. The volume presents new research from the Ivashkin-Schnittke Archive at Goldsmiths, University of London and the collection of Schnittke’s compositional sketches at the Julliard Library in New York. It also draws on the substantial research on Schnittke’s music published in the Russian language. Including a work list and bibliography of primary and secondary sources, this is an essential reference for all those interested in Russian music, 20th-century music and performance studies.

chapter 1|49 pages

Eras and techniques

chapter 2|22 pages

Stage Works

chapter 3|18 pages

Choral Works

chapter 4|12 pages

Solo Vocal Works

chapter 5|87 pages

Orchestral Works

chapter 6|56 pages

Chamber Works

chapter 7|12 pages

Keyboard Works

chapter 8|15 pages

Film Music