First published in 1997, This volume brings together a wide selection of those articles which include interviews, personal recollections of Brian and several detailed analyses of some of his works, generously illustrated with music examples. The book concludes with a recently updated catalogue of works.

part 1|1 pages

Life and personality

chapter 2|20 pages

Bertram B. Walker: A voice from the past 1

part 2|1 pages


chapter 15|4 pages

Martyn Becker: Brian’s Third Symphony 1

part 3|1 pages


chapter 30|7 pages

Mike Smith: Brian’s word-setting 1

chapter 35|2 pages

Robert Simpson: The Brian revival 1