The only cure for a deadly plague sweeping the country is the crystal fang of a dragon that has terrorised the surrounding countryside for many years. Until now, the location of its den on Dragon Ridge Mountain has remained a mystery. In a race against time, Jack battles through a storm to reach the top of Dragon Ridge Mountain. With Merlin to guide him, Jack enters the dragon’s den and comes face to face with the monstrous beast. This is a story of courage, magic and one boy’s brave quest to fulfil a destiny foretold by the legends of long ago.

Join Jack on his journey as he writes the story with the assistance of the magician Merlin and Punctua, the Fairy Godmother of Writing, to punctuate properly and become a bestselling author.

Descriptosaurus Punctuation in Action Years 4–6: Jack and the Crystal Fang is part of a short series of age-specific, beautifully illustrated stories that can be read for pleasure and/or used as a contextualised resource, containing a step-by-step guide to teaching punctuation. The characters from each story are used to demonstrate a range of punctuation rules in a fun and engaging way appropriate to the book’s age group. Areas covered include:

  • formulating punctuation rules.
  • the use of misconceptions to highlight common errors.
  • teaching tips to provide a punctuation model.

The book explores the impact of punctuation on reading, understanding, meaning and effect, and can be used as a basis for pupils’ own punctuation or included in their ‘Writer’s Toolkit.’ These new Descriptosaurus stories are an indispensable teaching aid for making punctuation fun for all primary teachers and literacy coordinators.

part A|56 pages

The story of Jack and the Crystal Fang

chapter 1|4 pages

The legend

chapter 2|4 pages

Dragon Ridge Mountain

chapter 3|4 pages

The storm

chapter 4|8 pages


chapter 5|6 pages

The portal

chapter 6|6 pages

The cave

chapter 7|8 pages

The dragon

chapter 8|6 pages

The escape

chapter 9|8 pages

The Great Story-Writing Rebellion

part B|60 pages

Learning punctuation with the characters

chapter 10|4 pages

Meet the characters

chapter 11|7 pages

Editing a story

chapter 12|8 pages

Capital letters

chapter 13|3 pages

Question marks

chapter 14|3 pages

Exclamation marks

chapter 15|6 pages

Inverted commas

chapter 16|8 pages


chapter 17|10 pages


The comma maze

chapter |6 pages

Punctuation quests – level 1

part C|36 pages

Learning punctuation with the characters, level 2

chapter 18|6 pages


chapter 19|3 pages


chapter 20|3 pages


chapter 21|3 pages


chapter 22|3 pages


chapter 23|3 pages


chapter 24|3 pages

Bullet points

chapter |4 pages

Punctuation quests – level 2