CUAO is one of the four physics departments of the NIELS BOHR INSTITUTE FOR ASTRONOMY, PHYSICS AND GEOPHYSICS (NBIfAFG). The Astronomical Observatory was founded as a university observatory when the building of the Astronomical Round Tower was begun in central Copenhagen in 1637. In 1861 all astronomical activities were transferred to a new observatory just outside the center of Copenhagen