Two European Space Agency missions to send four identical spacecraft to explore the interaction between Earth's magnetosphere and the solar wind. SOHO and Cluster made up the first ESA `Cornerstone'. Cluster I was lost in the failed maiden launch of the Ariane 5 rocket in 1996. Cluster II, which replicates the original mission, will be launched from Baikonur in summer 2000