The compliance system of the climate regime encompasses a number of institutions, including the Conference of the Parties (COP), the Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties (COP/MOP), the Subsidiary Body on Implementation (SBI), the Subsidiary Body on Scientific and Technological Advice (SBSTA), the Compliance Committee (CC), the Expert Review Teams (ERTs), the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and the Secretariat. Furthermore, the climate regime has established various procedures concerning compliance control, compliance assistance, joint implementation (the flexible mechanisms) and dispute settlement. By its very nature, the system encompasses obligations under both the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and the Kyoto Protocol (KP).