Canada today is a federal union consisting of ten provinces and two northern territories. It was created by the British North America Act passed by the British Parliament on 29 March 1867, uniting New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Upper and Lower Canadas (now Quebec and Ontario) as the Dominion of Canada. It has grown by subsequent increments to include Manitoba (1870), British Columbia (1871), Prince Edward Island (1873), the Yukon Territory (1898), Saskatchewan (1905), Alberta (1905) and Newfoundland (1949).