The United Kingdom consists of four countries, England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. Local government in Scotland and Northern Ireland exhibits certain differences from that in England and Wales, which, though not great, would render some of the generalisations made in this chapter invalid. For this reason the study is confined to England and Wales.