The early Konbaung period, from the emergence of a new dynasty in 1752 to the first Anglo-Burmese war of 1824–26, was one of the most dynamic periods of Burmese history. A new dynasty self-consciously asserted itself by taking control of the plains of the Irrawaddy, pushing back Chinese invasions in the 1760s and conducting repeated wars against neighbouring Siam while controlling rebellious lords at home and reviving ceremonious forms of the Buddhist monarchy. A novel phenomenon in this period was Burma’s interference and territorial expansion to the west and the northwest, towards Arakan and the tiny kingdoms of Northeast India such as Manipur, Jainthia and Assam. This study deals with the conquest of the Buddhist kingdom of Arakan (see Map 9.1) and the 40 years of Burmese administration that came to an end when King Bagyidaw had to cede Arakan to the British East India Company in 1826.