According to its Constitution, the Russian Federation is a democratic, federative, multi-ethnic state. The President is elected for a term of six years by universal direct suffrage, for no more than two consecutive terms. In March 2014 Russia annexed two territories internationally recognized as constituting parts of Ukraine—the Republic of Crimea and Sevastopol City—bringing the de facto membership of the Federation to 85 territories. President Yeltsin strongly advocated decentralization within the Russian Federation. From 1995 the undertaking of bilateral treaties to delineate powers between the federal Government and the regional authorities became commonplace. The Council’s presidium is chaired by the Russian President, and its membership is rotated approximately every six months.