In memory of Professor Fazlur Rahman. Special thanks are due Mahmoud Ayoub, Rick Colby, John Eisele, Ken Fromm, Th. Emil Homerin, Mustansir Mir, Azim Nanji, John Seybold, Ruth Tonner, and Michael Zwettler for their comments on earlier drafts. This study was enabled in part through research grants from Haverford College.