The People’s Republic of China, hereafter referred to simply as China, is situated in the eastern part of Asia, on the west coast of the Pacific Ocean. Politically, China is under the leadership of the Communist Party and its administration is based on a three-level system dividing the nation into administrative units of three different sizes: provinces, counties, and townships. China is centrally located in East Asia. China’s mountains, rivers, and other geographical features have divided it into distinct north and south regions, marked by differences in climate, agriculture, culinary traditions, language, politics, and culture. The growth of China’s urban areas has accelerated dramatically since economic reforms were instituted in the late 1970s and early 1980s. Some languages in China are spoken by tiny percentages of the people, including the five major minority languages, Tibetan, Mongolian, Uighur, Zhuang, and Korean. Originally, there was no such concept as religion in China.