The house had been built in 1895 on an open tract of farmland a mile from the center of town. It was a two-story frame construction sitting on a sturdy fieldstone foundation and was finished in clapboard. The house was unique in its appearance and layout, as none of the neighboring houses had been built by the same carpenter. A tall oak tree graced the property, protecting it from the afternoon sun.