The public authorities have identified seven tourism zones for priority development. According to C O D E T U R : " . . . the Tourist Zones are priority areas for the expansion and development of tourism, and were selected on the basis of the quality of their tourist attractions, their proximity to already-established tourist centres, the availability of real estate for the environmentally sensitive creation of leisure, entertainment and lodging facilities" (Government da Bahia pamphlet [1997]: B a h i a , a g r e a t p l a c e f o r t o u r i s m ; a n even g r e a t e r p l a c e f o r d o i n g business) (see Figure 1).