Moscow (Moskva) is located in the west of European Russia, on the River Moskva, which crosses the city from the north-west to the south-east. It is connected to theVolga river systemby theMoscow-VolgaCanal.Moscow is in theCentral Federal Okrug and the Central Economic Area. The city’s total area is 1,091 sq km (421 sqmiles), making it the smallest federal subject. At the census of October 2010, Moscow city had a total population of 11,503,501 and a population density of 10,457.7 per sq km. The city is completely surrounded by Moscow Oblast. Of those resident in the City that stated their ethnicity at the census, 91.6% were Russian, 1.4% were Ukrainian, 1.4% were Tatar and 1.0% were Armenian. The city is in the time zone GMT+4.