The United Republic of Tanzania is a developing country in East Africa. It covers an area 945,000 square kilometers and has 1,424 kilometers of marine coastline on the eastern border. It has long land borders with Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Zambia, Malawi, and Mozambique, and it bestrides a number of inland waters. The wide variation in altitude offers a range of climates, from the humid and hot tropical climates on the coast to the warm savanna grasslands, the warm highlands, the temperate mountains, and the alpine climate on the slopes of the high mountains such as Kilimanjaro. It has a population of 34.6 million people and a population density of 39 per square kilometer (Tanzanian Bureau of Statistics, 2002). The country has about 120 ethnic groups; a common language, Kiswahili, facilitates easy communication between people.