The dry areas of the African continent are shown in Figure 1.1. They occupy between a third and a half of the entire area. The two largest dry zones in Africa are the Sahara and the Sahel, the former being an extremely dry desert and the latter a semi-arid area experiencing rain for one month in the year in its drier portion and up to three months in the year along its savanna boundary.