There are several taxes in Cyprus which are levied on the basis of the value of landed properties. Some of these are paid to the local authority and some are paid to central government. The taxes and rates levied by the Government of Cyprus on immovable property are: Immovable Property Tax of 1980, Town Rate, Improvement Rate, Towns Tax, Estate Duty Taxation, Capital Gains Tax, Betterment Charge and Sewerage Charges.