Property tax, in a South African context, refers to a tax called a 'general rate' or an 'assessment rate'. It is levied by local government structures on the owners of inunovable property on an annual basis. Property tax is presently levied in terms of provincial legislation in all nine South African provinces by primary local authorities within urban areas - be it small rural villages, towns, cities or metropolitan areas.