There are three main regimes governing the in personam jurisdiction of the English court: Brussels regime; Lugano Convention; traditional rules which apply in all other cases, referred to as the common law. The Brussels Regulation applies to all proceedings falling within its scope, regardless of the domicile or nationality of the parties. The Brussels Regulation only seeks to set out rules which apply where the defendant is domiciled in a Member State. The Lugano Convention essentially extended the Brussels Convention so as to apply as between countries party to the Brussels Convention and countries party to the European Free Trade Association. The Brussels Regulation will apply to proceedings in relation to matters within its scope commenced after 1 March 2002. The Brussels Convention will continue to apply to proceedings within its scope commenced before 1 March 2002, and as between Denmark and Contracting States under the Brussels Convention until the agreement with Denmark to apply the Brussels Regulation takes effect.