The Politburo Background List includes all members and candidate members of the Politburo up to the 28th Party Congress in July 1990; the 22 new members who on the 14th of that month were elected to the Politburo New Style are not included. The list summarizes the raw data on which the analysis in this book is based in 16 different categories. Several of them require some explanation.