The Slovak Republic in central Europe is approximately 49,000 square kilometers and is bounded by Poland on the north, Ukraine on the east, Hungary on the south, and Austria and the Czech Republic on the west. Slovakia is heir to much of the Czechoslovakian weapons industry, for which there is now little demand, and much of its farmland. Slovaks from the southern branch of Slavic-speaking peoples inhabited the eastern part of the Moravian Empire by the ninth century AD. The new constitution of the Slovak Republic incorporates elements of other European presidential-style parliamentary constitutions as well as concern for the rights of the nation's ethnic minorities. The Supreme Court and other courts whose jurisdiction and organization are determined by law decide civil and criminal matters; lay assessors are authorized to participate in panel decisions. The legislature may amend the constitution or enact a constitutional law with the approval of at least three-fifths of its members.