The Federal Maritime Commission was established in 1961 as an independent United States Government agency, responsible for the regulation of shipping in the foreign trades of the USA. The Commission’s five members are appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. The FMC is headquartered in Washington, DC, with four Area Representatives around the nation.