The Constitution having been ratified by the requisite nine states, these states could now proceed to organize the government of the United States. The five weakest of them had ratified by large margins. The four stronger ones which the Federalists had believed could also, with sufficient effort, be brought to ratify had likewise fulfilled expectations. From the foregoing tables it would appear that planters who had large or moderately large slaveholdings were divided almost equally on the question of ratification, but that the great majority of the small farmers who owned no slaves or very few slaves voted for the Constitution. The number of delegates finally voting for ratification was thirty-four. This means that twelve delegates, representing six towns, changed sides. There were two principal economic reasons for the shift. The first was the secession of Providence and the threatened secession of other Federalist towns, including Newport. The second reason was the promise of greater profits on public securities.